The Mule by Milli Hill
The Book Forge
Resisting Amazon and why it matters
0:00
-33:12

Resisting Amazon and why it matters

With independent bookseller Anna Wharton

This week in The Book Forge I’m talking to author, Sunday Times bestselling ghost writer, and fellow substacker Anna Wharton. Anna and I have connected over our similar substacks – in hers, The Book Room, you can follow her progress as she sets up a ‘real life’ book shop. We decided to have a chat about the publishing industry, the money involved for both authors and retailers, and what needs to change to make it not just fair, but viable.

What followed was a really consciousness-shifting discussion about what actually matters in life, and how our shopping habits can not only reflect what we value - but also keep what we value alive.

As Anna puts it during our discussion:

“If you are willing to acknowledge the time and the effort and the craft that has gone into a book and pay full price for it, you are actually contributing to this eco-system that not only keeps books being published by publishers, it keeps independent shops there, and it keeps writers writing. Customers choosing to do that is quite a big act that they’re not even aware of.”

Subscribe to Anna’s substack The Book Room

Browse and shop for books at her website The Book Room

We mentioned:

My recent substack on author earnings

Anna’s recent substack on her worst ever trading day

Choke Point Capitalism

When I Hit You by Meena Kandasamy

ALCS survey

The Imposter by Anna Wharton

How to resist Amazon and why by Danny Kane

0 Comments
The Mule by Milli Hill
The Book Forge
Join me as I write my 4th non fiction book, from the very first stages of planning and research, to publication day, and beyond! As I research the book, I'll be talking to a variety of book authors, writers, and experts in women's health, and recording our conversations for the podcast. I'll also be keeping a diary of my progress on the book, and sharing with you my research and writing progress, on my substack The Book Forge.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Milli Hill
Recent Episodes